West Cork Photography Breaks

A home away from home is how I would best describe West Cork Photography Breaks.  A perfect getaway filled with great food, nature, photography and fun, led and hosted by UK and Ireland based photographer, Celia Bartlett.

In Spring and Autumn Celia hosts a series of four-day photography workshops in the lovely ‘ Yellow House’ located on Toe Head, Castletownshend, which holds a Fáilte Ireland Welcome Standard for Quality Assurance and its welcome. Celia guides guests along some of the most scenic places in West Cork to photograph and learn more about this beautiful part of the country.

I love travelling around Ireland, taking photos (on my iPhone) and posting them on Instagram so when I heard about this workshop in the heart of the Wild Atlantic Way, I was keen to check it out.  Even though I find professional cameras a little intimidating, Celia reassured me that her workshop was for all levels and that I could use my iPhone if I preferred.

IMG_2494
Toe Head, Castletownshend, West Cork

When I arrived at The Yellow House, the kettle was boiling and Celia introduced me to fellow guest Sara, a lovely librarian from the UK. Celia served a delicious homemade chowder with giant prawns caught fresh that morning in Union Hall. (Celia is also trained in gluten-free food preparation). The house was charming and my bedroom was lovely, a perfect start to the weekend.

After lunch we went for a ramble to take some photos around Toe Head and the small beach just a stone’s throw away from the house. The weather was a little dull, but I found the experience very relaxing. Usually when travelling I like to take snap shots of the beautiful things I see, whereas here I was seeking out the shot to learn more about how to capture the right light, composition and angles with Celia’s guidance. I was hooked and it got me thinking about investing in a pro-camera. Later that evening, over a hearty Irish meal and a couple of glasses of wine, we shared some of our photos taken during our ramble and Celia provided her feedback. Sara was streets ahead of me but Celia’s easy-going manner made me feel comfortable. Celia gave me some great tips and it was obvious that she was used to working with all levels. Here are some of my favourite shots (taken with my iPhone)…

The next morning after a full breakfast, we headed off for a whale watching trip with Cork Whale Watch. The short drive to Reen Pier near Union Hall to catch the boat was beautiful and reminded me of a place called Vatos in Corfu.  At the height of the season, skipper Colin Barnes told us that he could see up to 90 whales in one day, including humpback and fin whales. We spotted several minke whales during our trip and hearing the sound of a whale exhale air explosively through its blowhole was incredible. We chased the birds gathering around whales to feed. Sara managed to get some great shots of gannets diving into the sea like bullets. She also got a great shot of grey seals resting on the Stag Rocks. Dolphin pods are usually spotted too but not the day we were out, unfortunately.

A couple of days later, I heard that basking sharks were spotted and filmed on one of Colin’s tours. The west coast of Ireland is one of the best places in the world to encounter or see Basking sharks, according to Emmett Johnston of the Irish Basking Shark Study Group from a recent interview with the Irish Independent.

Later that evening, we settled in front of the fire with a glass a wine and a delicious slow-cooked lamb meal. We went through our photos from the day and chose three of the best from Sara. I was happy enjoying the chats, wine and picking up lots of tips from Celia. Sara’s fantastic photo of the seals was submitted into the local newspaper and subsequently published. Result!

Our final full day was spent exploring Union Hall, Lough Hyne and Baltimore Harbour. We enjoyed a fabulous dinner in Richy’s Restaurant in Clonakilty followed by craic agus ceol in DeBarra’s pub, one of the finest music pubs in Ireland. Trad music sessions are held in DeBarra’s every Monday night and on the night we visited the owner was celebrating the birth of his first grandson, offering everyone a drink to wet the baby’s head! Only in Ireland. A great night to finish off a lovely weekend and we learned how to professionally photograph a trad session to boot!

Over the course of the four days, Celia encouraged me to try out her pro-cameras, she taught me the basics and shared lots of great tips. Feeling a little more confident, I took some shots of the trad session with Celia’s Olympus pro-camera. I no longer felt intimidated. I was hooked and a pro-camera has been added to my Santa list!

This is a lovely break away not just for those interested in nature and photography but also those seeking to try something new. It is also a great opportunity to meet new people with similar interests. Celia’s hospitality is second to none and all food served is locally produced and sourced. It was Sara’s first time in Ireland and she told us she had ‘experienced a real taste of Ireland’, ‘felt part of the community’ and found the ‘friendliness overwhelming’!  Sara, if you’re reading this…come back soon and stay longer, we’ll look after you.

The four-day all inclusive photography workshop costs €590 (subject to exchange rate). This includes accommodation, all meals, tours, use of photography equipment and transfers to and from Cork Airport. Bookings for 2016 Autumn workshops in September and October are open. To book and find out more click here.

 

Leave a Reply

